shield

4 replies to this topic

#1 Cookieraider

Poring

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 16 June 2017 - 09:21 AM

I started to play this game occasionally again for a few months after a really long break (I did last play before renewal somewhere in 2010).

I really liked the shield crusader that time and among a few support/slave characters I decided to make another as my main. Of course due to renewal I feel like a complete novice again and something really does not add up with shield skills. AFAIK way before Shield Boomerang was also affected with % damage boosting cards and gear, and now it generally seems it is absolutely not. I did search around a bit, and expect from the skill being shitty etc. there is really no official hint on % damage boosting stuff being ignored. As for my observation nothing really affects it except your shield, which was not the way it worked before. Soul Link works obviously but multiplying something extremely crappy will stay still way too crappy. (I did not test Tamruan Card yet, the 10% damage is not a big deal anyway, and I did not want to slot it into a temporary shield.)

On the other hand Smite seems to take these into account, and also seems to scale with weapon ATK. Now this is quite the opposite as with Shield Boomerang, actually its quite nonsense.

Now obviously I did not try out every possible combination here, due to being low level and in a lack of gear and resources. Should I classify this madness as a bug/feature? Is this the same since renewal? Also how does this affect further shield skills as a Paladin/Royal Guard? Does this mean that shields are now dead weight only, their respective skills rendered useless, and the way of the shield is a no-go anymore?

#2 Wink

Poporing

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 304 posts

Posted 18 June 2017 - 06:03 AM

The "% damage boosting Cards" do not exist any more. the 20% Cards do now boost only the atk not the dmg by 20%.